RECIPE: White Bean Turkey Chili

My house smells yummy today!  One of our house favorites is mingling in the crockpot and I can hardly wait for dinner!  This recipe is an altered version originally based on a chicken chili recipe from Food Network’s Giada De Laurentis (http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/white-bean-and-chicken-chili-recipe/index.html).  A friend of mine passed it on to me last year and I was skeptical to try it as I am not a normally a ground poultry or bean eater!  You could say I am the pickiest eater in the house, but I still prepare many meals with elements I might not enjoy but my family does so I gave it a try anyways.  I’ve always had a problem preparing ground turkey or chicken in a way that I enjoy but this recipe gets me eating it as well as white beans bowl after bowl happily!  You would probably have laughed at the sight of me standing over the completed pot of chili dishing it out to my family and making them eat it first, then lingered around the kitchen with a spoon trying to get the courage to try it myself!  I’m sure my mom about fell over when she heard my new favorite recipe was a bean soup!  (I also now eat black beans in limited amounts, but don’t ever give me a kidney or lima bean!)

I normally prepare this chili in the crockpot on busy winter days so we have dinner waiting for us in the evening but it can also be quickly prepared on the stove top.  To save time on busy mornings, much of the work can be done the night before in a matter of minutes and be ready to just pour in the crockpot and turn on (prepare the meat, rinse & drain beans & corn, measure out  chicken broth).  Since this is a bean based chili, I would suggest against freezing as the beans can break down and make the texture very mushy and grainy.

Today I was going to only make a half batch of soup to limit the amount of leftovers but a friend of mine is having surgery so I will take some to their family this afternoon for them to enjoy as well.

White Bean Turkey Chili

1 lb ground turkey
2 Tbsp olive oil
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp salt
2 Tbsp ground cumin
1 Tbsp oregano
2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (optional)
3 cans white navy beans, rinsed & drained
1 can whole kernel corn, rinsed & drained
4 cups chicken broth

1)  In a large skillet heat oil and garlic for 1-2 minutes on medium heat, add ground turkey and cook until no longer pink.  (* I like to add the spices directly to the meat as it is cooking to lightly toast the spices, but this is not necessary.  They can just be added directly to the pot with the other ingredients.)

2)  Rinse and drain beans and corn, place in a 4 qt (or larger) crockpot.

3)  Add meat, spices, and chicken broth to the pot stirring to mix evenly.

4)  Cook on low about 6 hrs or high about 4 hours.  Since everything going in the pot is already cooked, it just needs to come to temperature and stay hot until ready to serve.  Times will vary depending on the size and brand of your crockpot.  (* To make on the stove top… use a large pot to brown the meat, once cooked add all the remaining ingredients.  Bring to low simmer over low-medium heat and serve.)

 

Leave a Reply

