Eat From The Pantry Challenge… Week 3 Menu

Sorry for the delay in posting this week’s menu, time has not been my friend the past few days!  We are on week 3 of our household’s Eat From The Pantry Challenge and I admit, week 2 was not as successful as week 1.  Due to a busy week and schedule changes, we veered away from the weekly menu more than I would have liked but still used up many items from the pantry.  I am happy to say that I only made ONE trip to the store last week for food & household items!  I made a conscience effort to keep my list accurate and limit my weekly trips in order to cut back on unnecessary spending.  Food items purchased were limited to dairy, breads, and fresh produce.

Because many of the ingredients used in my menu plan are either frozen or non-perishable goods, it has been easy (maybe a little too easy) to rearrange the schedule.  I have been trying to stick with the same meals I have planned, but sometimes the days get moved around based on our activity schedule!  I hope to keep more to the schedule this week!

Here is week 3′s menu…

29 30 31 1 2 3 4
B cereal oatmeal waffles cereal oatmeal eggs
L hot dogs tuna salad  on the go mac & cheese sandwiches mini corn dogs
D leftovers chicken & rice soup porcupine meatballs white bean turkey chili pizza chicken patties & tater tots enchiladas

Sunday – Breakfast & lunch were left blank as my kids were spending time away from home with their grandparents!

Monday – I was able to use up a frozen bag of vegetable rice soup mix by adding some diced poached chicken breast.  I was also able to freeze two 8oz jars of leftover soup for quick lunches later.

Tuesday – Simple beef & rice meatballs served with mashed potatoes, gravy and a veggie picked out by the kids!

Wednesday – Since Wednesdays are usually very busy for me, White Bean Turkey Chili made in the crockpot will be ready for us when we get home for the day!  This was on last week’s menu but was moved due to an activity change!

Thursday – Our typical take-out pizza night due to late after school activities.

Friday – A fast and easy meal to use up leftover freezer items.

Saturday – A meal we haven’t had for awhile!  Should be able to freeze half of the recipe for a future meal.

Hope you are all enjoying following us on this journey!  Recipes will be posted throughout the week so you can eat along with us!

Leave a Reply

