RECIPE: No Bake Chocolate Cherry Oatmeal Bites

I don’t want to become a habitual poster, but after my earlier post I found out it was National Peanut Butter Day!!!  So I had to try this recipe originally shared with me by my SIL via Pinterest!  I again did some tweaking to the original recipe from Smashed Peas & Carrots and ran the variation through the nutritional calculator.

Because I’m not a big fan of coconut, I instead made a chocolate-cherry variation.  This recipe was also great to use up some our our random pantry items.  It used up a partial bag of dried cherries, plain instant oatmeal (saved from the packets of ‘original’ my kids don’t eat from the variety box), almost all the remainder of our honey and a few packets of peanut butter that came from left over Army MRE pouches brought home from my husband’s training!   That jar in the center is my first batch of homemade vanilla extract!

No Bake Chocolate Cherry Oatmeal Bites

1 cup oatmeal
1/4 cup ground flax seed
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/3 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
1/2 cup dried cherries, diced

1)  In a medium bowl, combine oatmeal, flax seed, peanut butter,  honey, and vanilla until evenly combined

2)  Mix in chocolate chips and cherries

3)  Using a tablespoon or cookie scoop, evenly scoop & roll 24-26 balls

4)  Store in the fridge

There is nothing listed that requires these to be refrigerated, but chilling does help to keep them well formed and prevent them from sticking together.  With the next batch I am going to try white chocolate chips & dried cranberries.  I would have made both batches today but… GASP… I ran out of peanut butter!  There are many substitutions and flavor variations discussed in the comments section of the original recipe including the use of almond butter instead of peanut butter for those with allergies, the use of crushed cereals in place of flax seed, or the addition of protein powder.

Here is the nutritional information for my above.

No Bake Chocolate Cherry Oatmeal Bites
SERVINGS CALORIES CARBS FAT PROTIEN SODIUM SUGAR
26 90 12 4 2 20 8


One thought on “RECIPE: No Bake Chocolate Cherry Oatmeal Bites

Leave a Reply

