RECIPE: Cheesy Chicken & Rice Bake

Here is the recipe for our 1/20 dinner.  I prepared this for the first time a couple of weeks ago and it was a big hit with the kids.  It made enough for 3 small meals for the kids and I.  I split it evenly into three foil loaf pans and froze two, we will be reheating one for this week’s dinner.  I found the recipe via a friend’s board on Pinterest!  Below is my original review of the recipe I posted on my personal FB page…

Thank you to my friend Rebecca for your original ‘pin’ of this recipe!  It’s been on my board for a few weeks now and I’m glad we finally tried it!  It took 20 minutes to prepare plus 25 minutes in the oven, only because I had to cook the rice first (which you could do ahead of time).  Yesterday I pre-cooked 6.5 pounds of chicken in my crockpot** for the freezer so this was perfect timing to try this recipe out!  I did make a few slight changes… I used a box of yellow rice mix instead of brown, canned corn instead of frozen, and I omitted the green chiles as I just didn’t have any in the pantry!  Instead of baking the entire recipe, I split it into 3 disposable foil loaf pans, covered one with cheese and baked for dinner and wrapped the other two up for the freezer.  In the future when I am cooking for four again, I will split the recipe into two square foil pans and freeze one pan for a later meal.

(**To pre-cook chicken for future meals, place boneless skinless chicken breasts in your crockpot, pour one can chicken broth in and cook until chicken is just tender and pulls apart easily.  Usually 5-6 hours on low… all depends on your crockpot.  Remove chicken from crockpot and allow to cool slightly, shred and bag in 2 cup portions.  This is great when you need chicken for a skillet meal or casserole, tacos, or also great for shredded bbq sandwiches)

Cheesy Chicken & Rice Bake

(original recipe from http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/main-courses/cheesy-chicken-and-rice-bake/)

2 cups shredded pre-cooked chicken

1 8oz box Zatarain’s Yellow Rice, prepared

1 can whole kernal corn, drained

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup sour cream

1/2 cup salsa

1 cup cheddar cheese + more for top

1)  Prepare rice as packaged

2)  In a large bowl, combine all ingredients, mix well

3)  Transfer to 9×13 casserole dish (I split into 3 foil loaf pans, and froze 2 for future meals)

4)  Top with additional cheddar cheese

5)  Bake at 350 for 25-30 min or until hot and bubbly

5 thoughts on “RECIPE: Cheesy Chicken & Rice Bake

  1. To give the chicken a mexican flavor, substitute a jar of store brand salsa for the broth in the crock pot.
    I then freeze the extra chicken for future tacos, enchiladas, quesadillas and soups. Label it “MexChix”!

  2. Great tip on the pre-cooked chicken. I’m sure that’s got to be a lot cheaper than buying those small bags of Tyson’s dried out stuff that I’ve bought in the past (and tastes better). I’d rather do my own like this.

Leave a Reply

